Brutally Honest

When was the last time you were brutally honest with God?

Honesty is hard to come by these days.  Even the most honest of people fill their days with white lies or lie to themselves, failing to admit that they are less than perfect.  I think one of the main reasons relationships are failing today is because of lack of honesty.  I’m not saying that everyone lies to everyone else all the time.  Nor am I saying that the “Honest Abe” in your life is a flat our liar.  What I am saying is that we have a tendency to be honest only when its convenient.

Let me ask you this: How do you handle conflict?  Anyone in my family would quickly tell you that I don’t like conflict.  I have a tendency to do whatever it takes to resolve conflict as quickly and quietly as possible, which isn’t always a good thing, because I will compromise in the process.  I’ll even take all the blame myself – whatever it takes to end the conflict, at least at the moment.  Know anybody like that?

Maybe you sweep things under the rug.  Countless Americans today live in families that don’t talk about anything.  They go on pretending that nothing is the matter and keep it hidden waiting for the day that everything either crumbles down or explodes because it’s been hidden for so long.  Maybe you’re the opposite and make conflicts worse because you want to talk about them to the point that you belabor them.  Things escalate easy and in the end, nothing gets resolved.  I think it’s easy enough to say that we all need help in dealing with conflict.  And it will always be a struggle.

So what does this all have to do with being brutally honest with God?

I believe that the way we handle conflict is the way we handle God.  We minimize Him to something contained in our mind.  We, without realizing it, make Him just as small, if not smaller, than those people that matter most in our lives.  And let me tell you something, it is possible to be brutally honest in our relationships.  But that can’t happen without complete unadulterated trust.  Do you trust God like that?  Can you tell God, “I’m really hurting right now and don’t know why You’re ‘out to get me’ right now” when that’s how you feel?  David could; probably half of the Psalms contain David’s frustration, and he says things I wouldn’t dare utter to God.  And more importantly, Jesus could.  How can we omit Jesus’ words on the cross when His Father turned His back on our sins.  In that moment, Jesus was the more lonely than we can even fathom!  And He wasn’t afraid to tell God.

I’ve been reading C. S. Lewis’ book, “A Grief Observed”.  He was someone in today’s modern world that was certainly willing to be honest with God.  And he even was brave enough to publish it!  The book is basically a published copy of his journaling after his wife died of illness.  In it he questions the very existence and nature of God.  Of course, we all know, as bet as humanly possible, that C. S. Lewis was a Christian and did believe in the same God as us.  But he was having trouble seeing or feeling God’s presence, and he wasn’t afraid to express it.

So let me pose my question to you again: When was the last time you were brutally honest with God?  That kind of honestly takes first an extremely close relationship with God.  One full of unhindered trust.  I know I have a hard time sometimes telling God what I’m thinking.  I think the subconscious part of me is afraid I’ll say something wrong and God will smite me for blasphemy.  Haven’t you read the Old Testament?  But you and I both know that is not the God we serve.  So why does it stop me?!

How bout you and I take the time this week to really evaluate our relationships with God and with those around us?  I think it’s absolutely necessary.  God created us to be in complete communion with Him, without holding anything back.  Sin hinders that, yes, but so do we.  Step out of the way with me and open the flow of communication.  We might be amazed at how God invades our lives and how much better our relationships become!

About onebeatblog

Our purpose is to equip, empower, and encourage those involved in student ministry!

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “When was the last time you were brutally honest with God? That kind of honestly takes first an extremely close relationship with God.”

    – It’s incredibly important, I guess, to be honest with God, because only then can we reveal our true selves to Him… it’s actually been a long time for me. I guess I should sit down and talk it through with God in the stillness, and find His comforting Spirit to descend within my soul. Thanks for this post.

    http://greyskeilrainbow.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/times-of-honesty/

Leave a Reply

