The Little Things

I don’t ask much from a waiter.  I almost completely base my tip off whether or not they keep my drink filled up at a relatively quick rate.  I am not a demanding customer but I do want my waiter to be at least cordial.  So as my family and I sat down at Uno Chicago Grill this past weekend I got a bad vibe from the waiter.  He was short with us and his answers to our questions seemed somewhat smug.  For example, when I asked him what the size difference between a personal and regular size pizza, he said, “A personal is for one and a regular is bigger.”  My sarcastic self had a million different things run through my mind but he seemed to be just a little too sassy for my taste.

However, after my family prayed for our food Jeremiah (our waiter) said this:

Hey, I just wanted to thank you guys for praying.  I have been a waiter for two years and have only seen about six tables pray before they eat.

Let that sink in.  Two years, six tables.  That’s 104 weeks where he has seen 6 tables pray.  That means that he had seen 1 table pray every 17 weeks or 4 months!  This is such a simple thing to do and yet it’s something that people neglect to do.  Our waiter went on to say that he had worked at I-hop on Sundays and would watch people come in from church and not even think about praying.  I don’t know whether Jeremiah was saved or not but I shudder to think that if he isn’t what kind of example are Christians setting?

There is a problem with the way Christians see our faith.  Even though scripture is very clear that we are saved by grace through faith, we work as if our salvation depends on our own actions.  So we do our personal devotions, go to church three times a week, go to prayer meetings, and go to Bible studies.  I am by no means saying that these are bad things, but why can’t we do the little things well?

When you play sports, it all comes down to doing the little things right, and such is life.  We need to make sure that we are being faithful in the little things.

If you are faithful in little things, you will be faithful in large ones. But if you are dishonest in little things, you won’t be honest with greater responsibilities.  — Luke 16:10

Whether you are a youth pastor, youth worker, parent, student, or anything in between, we have to analyze how we are living our lives.  Are we doing the little things well, or are we so distracted by everything else, that we can’t take 2 minutes to thank God before you eat.  That one prayer that seemed like such a small thing to our family meant something profound to our waiter.  It was profound enough that he felt the need to come and thank us.

My question to you is, what example are you leaving behind?

-Jason

About onebeatblog

Our purpose is to equip, empower, and encourage those involved in student ministry!

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What an amazing experience; thanks so much for sharing. It’s very disturbing and fascinating at the same time. We really do need to pay attention that we are devoting even the little things to God in our lives and that we are really living for Him. People are watching us even when we least expect it.

Leave a Reply

