Service is Key

My little brother is getting married tomorrow!  This is the little brother than used to tuck his winter jacket into his jeans and his jeans into his cowboy boots.  This is the same little annoying brother that my older sister and I harassed when he was younger.  This is also the same little brother that officially became a Resident Director at Liberty University a few weeks ago.  Needless to say, my brother has grown up and matured a lot and the time is soon coming when he will be responsible for the life of another human being!

With all that said and done I got to thinking about what advice I would give my little brother after my year and four months of marriage.  In marriage and in ministry, service is key!  Service in marriage is by no means an easy task.  If you’ve been married six months, you can attest to the fact that sometimes you just don’t want to serve your spouse.  When you’re comfortably seated in front of the tv watching the game, the last thing you want to do is help empty the dishwasher, but service is key.

There are a lot of times when I totally fail to serve my wife.  I don’t fold clothes well and my wife can load the dishwasher much better than I can.  I’m not saying that just because I don’t want to do it, she is genuinely more organized and precise that I am. I am no master of service but I’m smart enough to know that (1) service means the world to my wife and (2) service is required in scripture.

“And since I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you ought to wash each other’s feet. I have given you an example to follow. Do as I have done to you. ” — John 13:14-15

This passage has huge implications for our ministry!  There are times in ministry when we will be asked to do things that we simply don’t want to do.  Sometimes we are going to be called upon to move a table or clean a bathroom.  People are more willing to follow leaders who are willing to serve.

My advice to my little brother the day before his wedding is that service is key.  You have to be strong, provide for your family, and be a leader but all of that stems from a heart of service.  If you are willing to serve and not simply sit and be served, you ministry and your marriage will flourish.

Service is Key!

-Jason

About onebeatblog

Our purpose is to equip, empower, and encourage those involved in student ministry!

Posted on May 18, 2012, in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

