Feels Like Home

My View of Philly

I am one of those people that can get far more accomplished in a place that is neither my home nor my office.  For some reason going into a Starbucks gets my creative juices going.  Sometimes it seems like I could do more work in two hours at a Starbucks that I could in eight hours in an office.  It might be the soothing mix of Hugh Laurie and Bob Marley, the warming tones of browns and oranges, or the scent of coffee that infuses into the leather of my Bible.  I love coffeeshops and they are everywhere.

The problem is, my wife and I have been roaming around the city of Philadelphia looking for a good combination of atmosphere, coffee, and free wifi to no avail.  We wanted to find something with the comfort of Starbucks without it actually being Starbucks.  I don’t know why this task is seemingly impossible but after over an hour of searching we settled on, Starbucks.

The fact of the matter is that Starbucks has created an unparalleled atmosphere that invites you in.  I always know that if I need a place to sit and unwind, there will be a Starbucks close-by that will welcome me with open arms!

When Howard Schultz took over the company we all know and love, his goal was to create a place where people could come, meet, and live in community together.  I think all of us in ministry would say that in an ideal world, we want to create a place that welcomes and encourages community.

Is it just me, or is the church the last place you go to just relax?  Many of our churches are lavished with decorations that we would never surround ourselves with.  Some people may be thinking, “I’m not hiring an interior decorator for our church”, but I would ask why not?  More often than not, it seems that churches are trying to create home based groups because the church is an uncomfortable place for people to be.  People want to go to homes because homes lend themselves to transparency, comfort, and good food!  Churches want to build community, but yet we fail to provide a comfortable place to land.

Our ministry needs to be a place where people feel welcomed, loved, and free to relax and be themselves.  We want people to equate church with home.  We want people who want to be a part of what our church has to offer.  What is the atmosphere of your ministry?

-Jason

About onebeatblog

Our purpose is to equip, empower, and encourage those involved in student ministry!

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Cultural Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

