Writer’s Block

Everyone who has ever written anything in their life has faced writer’s block at some point in time.  I’m not one for sweeping generalizations but this one I know to be true.  Every single one of us has sat down in front of a computer, piece of paper, or for you older folks a typewriter and said, “hmm where should I begin?”

To be completely honest with you as a cherished reader, it seems like Alicia and I hit writers block every single time we sit down to write this blog.  I know there are a lot of readers out there who plan out the next month of blogs and write on a schedule but Alicia and I basically sit down and say, “Ok what should I write today?”  For your sake that means that our content is fresh and straight from our hearts at a given moment.  However, it means that some days we almost miss a writing deadline.

Now all of this rambling has a purpose, I am not going to leave you here simply saying I have no clue what to write about.  See the thing is that when things get hard we can’t just give up.  If Alicia and I didn’t write on the days where we sat and said I’m not sure what to write, then there would be far fewer posts that we currently have here at OneBeatBlog.

The point I want to make is that while every person has dreams, not every person has the willingness, persistence, or work effort to make those dreams come true.  When your dream reaches a standstill do you give up or do you continue to pursue regardless of what anyone says.  Every NFL, NBA, MLS, NHL, or PGA star had to put in the hours upon hours to be great at the sport that they star in.  If the athletes that we admire so much had given up after on their dream after they lost a match or didn’t feel like training, we wouldn’t have professional sports.

There are many times that I don’t feel like writing but I continue to do so.  My only point to this point is to never give up.  We all have days when we “don’t feel like writing” but once you reach that point don’t give up.  Continue writing, continue training, continue working, and continue to follow your dreams.  We need more people who are pursuing their dreams no matter what the cost may be.

-Jason

About onebeatblog

Our purpose is to equip, empower, and encourage those involved in student ministry!

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Christian Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

