Get In The Word

If I were to ask you what your time in the word looked like, what would your answer be?

  • I give God the first 15 minutes of the day.
  • I listen to pastors on podcast 3-4 times a week.
  • I read my Bible through every year.
  • I read my Bible when I prepare my lessons.

There are any number of answers that you could give to this question.  Some are good answers and some answers totally break my heart.  The first point that I want to make here in this post is to, GUARD your time in the word. This is my number one piece of advice I would give after a year of full-time ministry.  GUARD your time in the word and FIGHT for time with God.  If you do not guard your time in the word then you cannot be successful in anything else that you are trying to do.  There are a million things that vie for your attention each day from parents, to events, to counseling, but you cannot do any of those things if you don’t guard your time in the word.

The answer that breaks my heart the most out of the four that I listed above is, “I read my Bible when I prepare my lessons.”  This is like an accountant saying, I study tax code when I’m preparing your taxes.  This is like a doctor saying I study the newest surgery procedures when I’m prepping for surgery.  There is not one person out there that would say, “yes that is the doctor or accountant that I want to have.”

You were hired to be a shepherd of students!  A shepherd is not just one of the sheep, a shepherd is a leader who knows the dangers has lead sheep before and knows what it takes to get the sheep through the various obstacles in their way.  If you are going to shepherd your students, then you have to know where you are leading the students.  You have to know the word better than your students.

My second question to you would be, if you don’t have a desire to be in God’s word daily, why is that?  If God’s word is as life changing as you preach it to be, then why don’t you desire to be in it daily?  I am not by any stretch saying that reading the word is always easy for me to read but we need to be disciplined in knowing and reading God’s word.

The reason I say GUARD your time in the word and FIGHT for time with God is because if you are not spending personal time in God’s word then you cannot lead people into the depths of God’s word.  If you don’t GUARD your time in the word and FIGHT for time with God, then you may be successful for a time, but there is a shelf life on your ministry.

What are you doing to GUARD and FIGHT for time with God?

-Jason

About onebeatblog

Our purpose is to equip, empower, and encourage those involved in student ministry!

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

